2020 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees: Whitney Houston, Soundgarden & More

On Tuesday (October 15), the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced the nominees for its Rock Hall Class of 2020.

This year nine out of 16 nominees made the cut for the first time: Whitney Houston, Dave Matthews Band, The Notorious B.I.G., Soundgarden, The Doobie Brothers, Motörhead, Pat Benatar, T. Rex, and Thin Lizzy.

The returning seven nominees include Todd Rundgren (nominated for Class of 2019), Judas Priest (nominated for Class of 2018), Depeche Mode (nominated two times before), Rufus featuring Chaka Khan (nominated three times before), Kraftwerk (nominated five times before), MC5 (nominated four times before), and Nine Inch Nails (nominated two times before).

The nominees who get the most votes will be announced in January. They will then be inducted into the hall of fame on May 20 at the 35th annual Rock Hall of Fame ceremony at the Hall's home base of Cleveland, Ohio.

So, what does it take to make the final cut? Well, according to the official Rock Hall induction process, "ballots are first sent to "more than 1,000 historians, members of the music industry and artists—including every living Rock Hall inductee." Then, the five performers to receive the most votes become that year's induction class. That's not all, starting in 2012, "fans were given the chance to vote for the nominees they'd like to see inducted into the Rock Hall. The top five vote-getters in the public poll form one ballot, which is weighted the same as the rest of the submitted ballots."

Last year's inductees were Janet Jackson, Stevie Nicks, The Cure, Def Leppard, Radiohead, Roxy Music, and The Zombies.

Photo: Getty Images